APA Book Prize

Go down

APA Book Prize

Post  Admin on Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:20 am

The APA alternates giving an award to the best published article and book published in the previous two years. The new Book and Article Prizes replace the former Matchette Foundation Book Prize.


The winner of the award will receive $4,000 and be presented with the prize at a divisional meeting of the Association.
The APA Committee on Lectures, Publications, and Research is responsible for organizing the Book Prize Selection Committee.


The Book Prize was awarded for the first time in 2000. The next Book Prize will be awarded in 2009 (then 2011, 2013, 2015, etc.).
The fifth APA Book Prize will be awarded to the best book in philosophy published by a younger scholar in 2007 or 2008 (A "younger scholar" means that the author was 40 years of age or younger in the year the nominated book was published, or that the author received his or her Ph.D. 10 years or less before the year in which the book was published).
Eligible books must bear a copyright imprint of 2007 or 2008.
The winner must be a member in good standing of the APA at the time the prize is awarded.
A book must be nominated by two members of the APA other than the author. (A member may nominate only one book).
Nominations need only identify the author, title and publisher.
The APA will contact nominated authors for assurances of eligibility and to secure copies of the nominated book.


2007: Jason Stanley for Knowledge and Practical Interests

Honorable Mentions were awarded to Alva Noë for Action in Perception and Mi-Kyoung Lee for Epistemology after Protagoras

2005: Robert Pasnau for Thomas Aquinas on Human Nature

Honorable Mentions were awarded to Professor Russ Shafer-Landau for his book, Moral Realism: A Defense, and Professor David Boonin for his book, A Defense of Abortion

2003: Ted Sider for Four-Dimensionalism: An Ontology of Persistence and Time

2001: Charles Siewert for The Significance of Consciousness

Honorable mention to Elijah Millgram for Practical Induction

2000: Michael Smith for The Moral Problem

Honorable mention to John Dupre for The Disorder of Things
Honorable mention to Timothy Williamson for Vagueness


Send nomination letters (or questions) to
Evonda Acevedo (eacevedo@udel.edu) or to

APA Book Prize
American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue
Newark, DE 19716



Posts : 1449
Join date : 2010-01-24
Location : Egypt


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum