The National Book Critics Circle Award

Go down

The National Book Critics Circle Award

Post  Admin on Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:19 am

Every year the National Book Critics Circle presents awards for the finest books and reviews published in English. The NBCC selects awards in six categories: Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism.


Books published in English (including translations) in the United States with pub dates within 2007 will be considered.
It is essential that the board receive the books as early in the year as possible to allow time to consider all titles, and so they can be part of the board's active, ongoing discussion.
The absolute deadline for the 2007 awards is the 1st of December.
Members of the Board of Directors nominate books.
Each book that is championed by a board member is placed on a master list, from which the finalists (and ultimately the winners) are selected.


2006 Awards Winners:

Biography Winner:

Julie Phillips, James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon (St.Martin's Press)

Autobiography/Memoir Winner:

Daniel Mendelsohn, The Lost: A Search for Six of Six Million (HarperCollins)

Criticism Winner:

Lawrence Weschler, Everything That Rises: A Book of Convergences(McSweeney's)

Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing Winner:

Steven G. Kellman

Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award Winner:

John Leonard


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact:
Barbara Hoffert, awards VP


Posts : 1449
Join date : 2010-01-24
Location : Egypt

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum